Haad KhomAlso called Coral Bay, is a small bay in northwest Koh Phangan, in close proximity to Chaloklam. The sea plays all colors here and you can swim well. Occasionally corals grow into the bay, but you can easily bypass them on the sandy underwater paths. The beach is particularly popular with long-term vacationers who appreciate the relaxed, quiet atmosphere. It is important to know that Haad Khom does not have 24 hours of electricity. This is where the monkeys come down from the jungle and rumble in the trees. Feeding is strictly forbidden, because in a short time it would no longer be a joy but a real nuisance. No way you should Dukdik, miss the pig! She resides, fat and lazy, in the Coral Bar and sometimes goes swimming in the sea - sometimes with shark fins on the back.

Accommodation in Had Khom

The Ocean View Beach Resort is visually a true island space. The different bungalows are spacious, fragrant, bright and clean. Bowie, the owner, is always ready to make your stay as nice and enjoyable as possible.

Koh Phangan-Haad Khom Beach-Ocean-View

It is also noble in the Coral Bay: One of the most exclusive Beach Villas is here for a night or longer to rent.

Koh Phangan-Haad Khom villa

Activities in Haad Khom

Had Khom is at snorkelers popular, as there is a variety of marine life to discover in the bay. You can rent a kayak and go exploring. The eponymous reef of the bay is intact and is also used by the Diving Schools in Chaloklam and hit Maehad for snorkeling trips. At the end of the road, a path through the jungle leads to Bottle Beach, just follow the bottles. Allow at least two hours to walk and take enough water with you. For the way back, you might better take a taxi boat, because it gets dark and early on Koh Phangen. From here, it is worth taking a day trip by boat to Tong Nai Pan or Thansadet.

Restaurants and bars in Haad Khom

There are only four restaurants on the beach and the Coral Bar is open ... as long as it is open. The Ocean View has a slightly more exclusive menu, at Haad Khom bungalows is certified organic and cooked without flavor enhancers and in the Coral Bay Restaurant You will find a good, very tasty selection of classic dishes.

Travel

From Thong Sala take the Police Road and follow the signs to Chaloklum. There you turn left to Haad Khom. Follow the road, even if you think you're wrong, until you see the signpost for Coral Bay Bungalows on the right. There you turn, then you have to park and go down the last piece on foot. Please pay attention to the last part of the way especially on the road, the opposite lane abruptly breaks off.

Also interesting:

Exchange yourself in our Facebook group with other Koh Phangan travelers and benefit from the tips of the German-speaking emigrant community on Koh Phangan.

ūüĒĽClick on the picture and go directly to the groupūüĒĽ

Haad Khom / Coral Bay pictures

Haad Khom, auch Coral Bay genannt, ist eine kleine Bucht im Nordwesten Koh Phangans, in unmittelbarer Nähe zu Chaloklam. Das Meer spielt hier alle Farben und man kann gut schwimmen. Vereinzelt wachsen Korallen bis in die Bucht, doch kannst du diese leicht auf den sandigen Unterwasserpfaden umgehen. Der Strand ist besonders bei Langzeiturlaubern beliebt, die die entspannte, ruhige Atmosphäre schätzen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass Haad Khom nicht über 24 Stunden Strom verfügt. Hierher kommen auch noch die Affen vom Dschungel runter und rumoren in den Bäumen. Füttern ist streng untersagt, denn es wäre in Kürze keine Freude mehr sondern eine wahre Plage. Auf gar keinen Fall solltest du Dukdik, das Schwein verpassen! Sie residiert, fett und faul, in der Coral Bar und geht ab und zu auch ins Meer schwimmen – manchmal mit Haifischflossenattrappe am Rücken.

Unterkünfte in Had Khom

Das Ocean View Beach Resort ist optisch ein wahr gewordener Inseltraum. Die unterschiedlichen Bungalows sind großzügig, duftig, hell und sauber. Bowie, die Inhaberin, ist stets bemüht deinen Aufenthalt so schön und angenehm wie möglich zu machen.

Koh-Phangan-Haad-Khom-Beach-Ocean-View

Es geht durchaus auch edel in der Coral Bay: Eine der exklusivsten Beach Villen ist hier pro Nacht oder auch länger zu vermieten.

Koh-Phangan-Haad-Khom-Villa

Aktivitäten in Haad Khom

Had Khom ist bei Schnorchlern beliebt, da es in der Bucht eine artenreiche Unterwasserwelt zu entdecken gibt. Du kannst ein Kajak mieten und damit auf Erkundungstour gehen. Das namensgebende Riff der Bucht ist intakt und wird auch von den Tauchschulen in Chaloklam und Maehad für Schnorcheltrips angefahren. Am Ende der Straße führt ein Pfad durch den Dschungel zum Bottle Beach, folge einfach den Flaschen. Rechne mit mindestens zwei Stunden Gehzeit und nimm bitte ausreichend Wasser mit. Für den Rückweg nimmst du vielleicht besser ein Taxiboot, denn es wird früh und schnell finster auf Koh Phangen. Von hier aus lohnen sich jedenfalls Tagesausflüge mit dem Boot nach Tong Nai Pan oder Thansadet.

 

Restaurants und Bars in Haad Khom

Es sind nur vier Restaurants am Strand und die Coral Bar hat offen….so lange sie offen hat. Das Ocean View hat eine etwas exklusivere Speisekarte, bei Haad Khom Bungalows wird ausgewiesen organic und ohne Geschmacksverstärker gekocht und im Coral Bay Restaurant findest du eine gute, sehr schmackhafte Auswahl an klassischen Gerichten.

Anfahrt

Von Thong Sala aus nimmst du die „Police Road“ und folgst immer der Beschilderung nach Chaloklum. Dort biegst du dann links nach Haad Khom ab. Folge der Straße, auch wenn du glaubst du bist schon falsch, bis du rechter Hand den Wegweiser zu Coral Bay Bungalows siehst. Dort biegst du ein, dann musst du parken und das letzte Stück zu Fuß hinunter gehen. Bitte achte beim letzten Abschnitt des Weges besonders auf die Straße, die entgegen gesetzte Spur bricht unvermittelt mal eben ab.

Haad Khom / Coral Bay Bilder