Haad Maehad is a beach in the northwest of Koh Phangan. The place Maehad continues to grow and meanwhile there are a large number of resorts and bungalow complexes, as well as restaurants and bars. In the village you will find everything you need on vacation. The sunsets in Mae Haad behind or around the adjacent island Koh Ma are legendary. Koh Ma is connected to the island mainland by a sandbank and depending on the water level you can walk on the small island. The best time to swim is between December and March, when the water is pretty low. Of course, a visit is possible throughout the year and worthwhile! Koh Ma is a famous diving and snorkeling spot, protected as a Marine National Park. The beach is large and spacious for local conditions. Here are many big, old trees that give you shade. It has managed to maintain the jungle feeling over long distances. From here is Chaloklum with all its shops, bars and restaurants quickly reachable by scooter and the beautiful Haad Khom Beach is also ideal for a trip.

Activities in Mae Haad

You are at one of the best snorkeling Spots from Koh Phangan. The islet of Koh Maa belongs to the national park. Thanks to this, the underwater landscape is intact and with a bit of luck, you can even spot turtles and reef sharks. With rental canoes It is worth paddling around Koh Maa to discover small sandy coves and caves that are otherwise inaccessible. If snorkelling is not enough, you will find one too diving school in Mae Haad. If you want to explore Koh Maa on foot, we recommend you to wear tighter shoes to climb carefree on rocks and cliffs. At the Wang Sai waterfall An adventure park has been set up. It is a climbing park with zip line and so on, you can visit the waterfall itself for free. Be on the beach Massages offered and you can of course book various excursions.

Wang Sai Adventure Park

Restaurants and bars in Mae Haad

First of all, be the one 360 bar recommended. You will find it, when you drive at the fork Maehad / Utopia Resort on the right, ie to Utopia, and then follow the signs on the left up the hill. Here you can expect good music, cocktails, snacks and an excellent photo backdrop for the sunset. Also located in lofty heights is the Tree House Bar, There you sit with very good Thai food traditionally on seat cushions at low tables. in the Big O RestaurantIn front of the Wang Sai waterfall, you will also be served wonderful Thai food. Good international food can be found at Maehaad Bay Resort.

Three Sixty Bar Ko Phangan Maehad

 Accommodation in MaeHad

Hotel Koh Phangan

Maehaad Bay Resort

A new, large complex with pool, fitness center and good restaurant. The rooms are spacious and bright.

 

 

Hotel Koh Phangan

Mae Haad Cove Bungalow

The bungalow complex is simple and authentic, located directly on the beach.

Travel

Coming from Thong Sala Pier, turn left at the Tesco Lotus onto Middle Road and follow the signs to Chaloklum until the signpost to Mae Haad prompts you to turn left. With the scooter you need about 25 to 30 minutes. If you are taking a taxi you will have to pay around 300 Bath per person. Taxi fares can vary widely and depend on season, number of passengers and time of day.

Also interesting:

Exchange yourself in our Facebook group with other Koh Phangan travelers and benefit from the tips of the German-speaking emigrant community on Koh Phangan.

ūüĒĽClick on the picture and go directly to the groupūüĒĽ

Haad Maehad pictures

Haad Maehad ist ein Strand im Nordwesten Koh Phangans. Der Ort Maehad wächst immer weiter und mittlerweile gibt es eine größere Anzahl Resorts und Bungalowanlagen, sowie Restaurants & Bars. Im Village findest du alles was man so braucht im Urlaub. Die Sonnenuntergänge in Mae Haad hinter oder um die angrenzende Insel Koh Ma sind legendär. Koh Ma ist durch eine Sandbank mit dem Inselfestland verbunden und je nach Wasserstand kannst du auf die kleine Insel laufen. Zum Schwimmen kommst du am besten zwischen Dezember bis März, da danach das Wasser recht niedrig ist. Natürlich ist ein Besuch aber das ganze Jahr möglich und lohnenswert! Durch das, als Marinenationalpark geschützte, Korallenriff ist Koh Ma ein berühmter Tauch- und Schnorchelspot. Der Strand ist für hiesige Verhältnisse groß und weitläufig. Hier stehen viele große, alte Bäume die dir Schatten spenden. Es ist gelungen über weite Strecken das Dschungelfeeling zu erhalten. Von hier aus ist Chaloklum mit all seinen Shops, Bars und Restaurants schnell mit dem Roller erreichbar und der wunderschöne Haad Khom Beach bietet sich ebenfalls für einen Ausflug geradezu an.

Aktivitäten in Mae Haad

Du befindest dich an einem der besten Schnorchelspots von Koh Phangan. Das Inselchen Koh Maa gehört zum Nationalpark. Dank dieses Umstandes ist die Unterwasserlandschaft intakt und mit etwas Glück kannst du sogar Schildkröten und Riffhaie beobachten. Mit Leihkanus lohnt es sich um Koh Maa herum zu paddeln und kleine Sandbuchten und Höhlen zu entdecken, die sonst unzugänglich sind. Wem Schnorcheln nicht genügt, der findet auch eine Tauchschule in Mae Haad. Wenn du Koh Maa zu Fuß erkunden möchtest, empfehlen wir dir festere Schuhe zu tragen um sorglos auf Felsen und Klippen klettern zu können. Am Wang Sai Wasserfall wurde ein Adventure Park eingerichtet. Es handelt sich um einen Kletterpark mit Zip Line und so weiter, den Wasserfall selbst kannst du kostenlos besuchen. Am Strand werden Massagen angeboten und du kannst selbstverständlich verschiedenste Ausflugstouren buchen.

Wang-Sai-Adventure-Park

Restaurants und Bars in Mae Haad

Allen voran sei euch die 360-Bar empfohlen. Diese findest du, wenn du an der Gabelung Maehad / Utopia Resort rechts, also zum Utopia, fährst und dann den Schildern links den Berg hinauf folgst. Hier erwarten dich gute Musik, Cocktails, Snacks und eine ausgezeichnete Fotokulisse für den Sonnenuntergang. Ebenfalls in luftiger Höhe angesiedelt ist die Tree House Bar. Dort sitzt du beim sehr guten Thai-Essen traditionell auf Sitzpolstern an niedrigen Tischen. Im Big O Restaurant, vor dem Wang Sai Wasserfall, wird dir ebenfalls wunderbares Thaifood serviert. Gute internationale Küche findest du unter anderem im Maehaad Bay Resort.

Three Sixty Bar Ko Phangan Maehad

 Unterkünfte in MaeHad

Hotel Koh Phangan

Maehaad Bay Resort

Eine neue, große Anlage mit Pool, Fitnesscenter und gutem Restaurant. Die Zimmer sind geräumig und hell.

 

 

Hotel Koh Phangan

Mae Haad Cove Bungalow

Die Bungalowanlage ist einfach und authentisch, direkt am Strand gelegen.

Anfahrt

Von Thong Sala Pier kommend biegst du beim Tesco Lotus links auf die Middle Road ab und folgst der Beschilderung Chaloklum, bis der Wegweiser zu Mae Haad dich zum Linksabbiegen auffordert. Mit dem Roller benötigst du etwa 25 bis 30 Minuten. Fährst du mit dem Taxi musst du mit rund 300 Bath pro Person rechnen. Taxipreise können stark variieren und sind abhängig von Saison, Fahrgastanzahl und Uhrzeit.

Haad Maehad Bilder