Haad Plai Laem is located on the west coast, north of Thongsala. Plailaem (Plaaylaem) is optically one of the most beautiful beaches on Koh Phangan, as the smaller and larger rock formations in the water create a very special atmosphere. The sea in Ao Plaay Laem is very clear most of the year and shimmers emerald green, but it is not particularly deep. The reef is only about 100 meters from the coast here. The beach is a little below the road and there are resorts and bungalow complexes both on the road and directly on the beach. In addition to simple bungalows, the Kupu Kupu Resort also has one luxury complex in Plaaylaem.

Activities in Haad Plai Laem

You can get one Kayak Borrow and, for example, paddle north to Hin Kong to refresh yourself at the Free Way Bar, or explore the small island of Koh Tae Nai, which is located in front of Thongsala. But please pay attention to the tides, it is exhausting to row back at low tide! The snorkeling Well worth it at the nearby reef, and of course around the islet. In this beautiful, quiet corner you will be at one beach walk enjoy, or you sit down in the evening on one of the rocks around the Sunset to enjoy. On the beach itself Massages offered.

Toprock Bar Ko Phangan

Restaurants and bars in Haad Plaaylaem

Two of the top spots for sunsets are here: First, the well-known AmStarDam Bar and on the other hand the Top Rock bar, In both bars you will get cocktails and drinks as well as food. Especially in the high season it gets extremely crowded shortly before sunset, so it can be useful to arrive earlier. While you can drive to the AmStarDam Bar right up to the bar, taxis are also driving up the mountain, felt like a few hundred steps between the street and the TopRock Bar. The atmosphere here is generally (still) more relaxed. Are you looking for a fine dinner, also Sunset inclusive, you will be in Kupu Kupu find out who have since 2019 also a very stylish rooftop bar to end the evening appropriately. Haad Plai Laem is still very close to Thongsala with all its amenities, such as the food market, massage studios, shopping, hairdressers and restaurants of all classes. Every Saturday there is a walking street near the pier.

Accommodation in Haad Plailaem

Hotel Koh Phangan

Colorful hats

Bungalows or studios right on the beach. After breakfast, the kitchen can be used as a communal kitchen.

Hotel Koh Phangan

Kalulushi Bungalows Eco Lodge

Charming, smartly furnished bungalows with kitchenettes incl. Coffee machine.

Hotel Koh Phangan

Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas

Each spacious unit has a private pool.

Also interesting:

Travel

From Thongsala Pier, follow the coastal road for less than 10 minutes. If you are going by taxi the price should be around 100 Baht. Taxi fares can vary widely and depend on season, number of passengers and time of day.

Exchange yourself in our Facebook group with other Koh Phangan travelers and benefit from the tips of the German-speaking emigrant community on Koh Phangan.

ūüĒĽClick on the picture and go directly to the group????

Haad Plailaem pictures

Haad Plai Laem liegt an der Westküste, nördlich von Thongsala. Plailaem (Plaaylaem) gehört optisch zu den schönsten Strände Koh Phangans, da durch kleinere und größere Felsformationen im Wasser eine sehr spezielle Atmosphäre entsteht. Das Meer ist in Ao Plaay Laem fast das ganze Jahr über sehr klar und schimmert smaragdgrün, allerdings ist es nicht besonders tief. Das Riff ist hier nur etwa 100 Meter von der Küste entfernt. Der Strand liegt etwas unterhalb der Straße und es befinden sich Resorts und Bungalowanlagen sowohl an der Straße als auch direkt am Strand. Neben einfachen Bungalows findest du mit dem Kupu Kupu Resort auch eine Luxusanlage in Plaaylaem.

Aktivitäten in Haad Plai Laem

Du kannst dir ein Kajak leihen und zum Beispiel in Richtung Norden nach Hin Kong paddeln um dich in der Free Way Bar zu erfrischen, oder die kleine Insel Koh Tae Nai, die Thongsala vorgelagert ist, erkunden. Dabei achte aber bitte auf die Gezeiten, es ist anstrengend bei Ebbe zurück rudern zu müssen! Das Schnorcheln lohnt sich am nahe gelegenen Riff immer, und natürlich auch rund um das Inselchen. In dieser schönen, ruhigen Ecke wirst du dich an einem Strandspaziergang erfreuen, oder du setzt dich Abends auf einen der Felsen um den Sonnenuntergang zu genießen. Am Strand selbst werden Massagen angeboten.

Toprock Bar Ko Phangan

Restaurants und Bars in Haad Plaaylaem

Zwei der Top Spots für Sonnenuntergänge befinden sich hier: Zum einen die bekannte AmStarDam Bar und zum anderen die Top Rock Bar. In beiden Bars bekommst du neben Cocktails und Drinks auch Essen. Besonders in der High Season wird es hier kurz vor dem Sunset extrem voll, etwas früher kommen kann also sinnvoll sein! Während du zur AmStarDam Bar bis kurz vor die Bar fahren kannst, auch Taxis fahren den Berg hoch, liegen gefühlt einige hundert Stufen zwischen der Straße und der TopRock Bar. Dafür ist die Stimmung hier generell (noch) entspannter. Bist du auf der Suche nach einem edlen Dinner, ebenfalls Sunset inklusive, wirst du im Kupu Kupu fündig werden, die haben seit 2019 auch eine sehr stylische Rooftop Bar um den Abend angemessen ausklingen zu lassen. Haad Plai Laem liegt noch sehr nahe zu Thongsala mit all seinen Annehmlichkeiten, wie zum Beispiel dem Food Market, Massagestudios, Einkaufsmöglichkeiten, Frisören und Restaurants aller Klassen. Jeden Samstag findet eine Walking Street nahe des Piers statt.

Unterkünfte in Haad Plailaem

Hotel Koh Phangan

Colorful Huts

Bungalows oder Studios direkt am Strand. Nach dem Frühstück kann die Küche als Gemeinschaftsküche genutzt werden.

Hotel Koh Phangan

Kalulushi Bungalows Eco Lodge

Charmante, smart eingerichtete Bungalows mit Küchenzeile inkl. Kaffeemaschine.

Hotel Koh Phangan

Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas

Jede der geräumigen Unterkünfte verfügt über einen privaten Pool.

Anfahrt

Vom Thongsala Pier aus folgst du der Küstenstraße für weniger als 10 Minuten. Fährst du mit dem Taxi sollte der Preis bei etwa 100 Baht liegen. Taxipreise können stark variieren und sind abhängig von Saison, Fahrgastanzahl und Uhrzeit.

Auch interessant:

Beachguide für alle Strände

Beste Reisezeit – Koh Phangan

Anreise

Haad Plailaem Bilder