Haad Than Sadet is located on Koh Phangan East Coast, at the foot of the Than Sadet waterfalls. It is a relatively small bay surrounded by high hills and cliffs. The water here is deep, which on the one hand allows swimming all year round, on the other hand, but can be dangerous for children, as the seabed really drops very steeply in front. Especially in the rainy season, as on all beaches of the east coast, there can be high waves and strong currents.

Than Sadet was first visited 1888 by King Churalongkorn (Rama V), who visited the waterfalls and bathed in them. Rama V visited Than Sadet more than ten times. Other kings of Thailand also came to this place, which translates roughly as "river visited by kings". Visible evidence of these visits are the royal inscriptions on several rocks. Rama V is immortalized above the waterfall on the road to Haad Sadet with a statue.

Than Sadet Royal Statuette Rama 5

Than Sadet is due to its historical importance, as well as the impressive flora and fauna protected national park area, For example, where the river flows into the sea, quite large monitor lizards (monitor lizards) can often be observed. As the resorts go seamlessly into the jungle, monkeys often come down to the beach, and even Phangan's colorful birdlife shows off its most magnificent side. Thansadet is ideal if you are looking for relaxation and tranquility, and the sea and nature are enough entertainment for you.

UPDATE - June 2019: From now on, the National Park, including Than Sadet Beach, will be charged 100 Baht per person.

Activities in Than Sadet

Directly from the beach you can follow the river and the Waterfalls explore with their countless steps and pools. The entire route is about three kilometers. Since this is not a vertical crash, but level heels, you do not have to go extremely steep uphill. Several parking facilities have been created on the street, from where you can also get to the water, without having to start at the bottom. Than Sadet always runs water, of course more or less depending on the amount of rain, and is worth a visit throughout the year. Please take enough water on your exploratory tours on foot! Along the cliffs it is nice too Schnorcheln, but you have to pay attention to the surf. At higher swell it can push you against the rocks covered with shells, which then gives bad cuts. About the small bridge at the southern end of the beach you can, and you should definitely, to the neighboring bay Thong Reng to run.

Bars and restaurants in Haad Sadet

This beach is beautiful, but if you are looking for nightlife or the amenities of a small town, you should just stop by for a day trip. The nearest 7 / 11 or a larger selection of restaurants is located about 15 minutes scooter ride away to find in Thong Nai Pan. By boat you can reach Haad Rin and the Eastcoast parties like Lost Paradise and Guy's Bar quite quickly, but the return journey can be quite expensive at night. The resorts' restaurants serve good, authentic Thai food, fresh fruit and shakes, and a selection of Western food.

 Accommodation in Haad Than Sadet

Hotel Koh Phangan

Mai Pen Rai Bungalows

Rustic wooden bungalows without air conditioning but with everything you need, right on the beach or high on the cliffs.

Hotel Koh Phangan

Plaas Thansadet Resort

In addition to simple wooden bungalows, there are also some newer ones with air conditioning. The view from the restaurant is legendary!

Also interesting:

Travel

Than Sadet can now be easily reached via the beautiful, wide Tong Nai Pan Road. From Thong Sala Pier, drive along Ban Tai Road along the coast towards Haad Rin. In Ban Tai, turn left at the Yoghurt Home and 7 / 11 crossroads and follow the road until the signposts take you to the second exit (right) at the roundabout. Then you drive until you are more or less on the beach. The journey takes about 30 minutes and is a steep ascent and descent. If you take a taxi you have to count on about 400 Bath per person. Taxi fares can vary widely and depend on season, number of passengers and time of day.

Alternatively, you can also travel with a long tail boat, for example from Haad Rin or Thong Nai Pan. If you want to go directly from Koh Samui to Than Sadet, there is a speedboat available. The ride takes only about 40 minutes, while ferry plus taxi or rented scooter need at least 1,5 hours.

Exchange yourself in our Facebook group with other Koh Phangan travelers and benefit from the tips of the German-speaking emigrant community on Koh Phangan.

ūüĒĽClick on the picture and go directly to the groupūüĒĽ

Than Sadet pictures

Haad Than Sadet liegt an Koh Phangans Ostküste, am Fuße der Than Sadet Wasserfälle. Es handelt sich um eine relativ kleine Bucht, die von hohen Hügeln und Klippen umgeben ist. Das Wasser ist hier tief, was einerseits das Schwimmen das ganze Jahr über ermöglicht, andererseits für Kinder aber auch gefährlich sein kann, da der Meeresboden wirklich bereits sehr weit vorne steil abfällt. Besonders in der Regenzeit kann es, wie an allen Stränden der Ostküste, auch hohe Wellen und starke Strömungen geben.

Than Sadet wurde erstmals 1888 von König Churalongkorn (Rama V) besucht, der die Wasserfälle besichtigte und darin badete. Rama V besuchte Than Sadet mehr als zehn Mal. Auch andere Könige Thailands kamen an diesen Ort, der übersetzt in etwa “von Königen besuchter Fluss” heißt. Sichtbares Zeugnis dieser Besuche sind die königlichen Inschriften an mehreren Felsen. Rama V ist auch oberhalb des Wasserfalls an der Straße zum Haad Sadet mit einer Statue verewigt.

Than Sadet Königsstatur Rama 5

Than Sadet ist aufgrund seiner historischen Bedeutung, sowie der eindrucksvollen Flora und Fauna geschütztes Nationalparkgebiet. Dort wo der Fluss ins Meer mündet, können beispielsweise oft recht große Monitor Lizards (Warane) beobachtet werden. Da die Resorts eigentlich nahtlos in den Dschungel übergehen, kommen oft auch Affen bis an den Strand hinunter, auch Phangans bunte Vogelwelt zeigt sich von ihrer prachtvollsten Seite. Thansadet ist ideal wenn du nach Entspannung und Ruhe suchst, und dir das Meer und die Natur genug Unterhaltung sind.

UPDATE – Juni 2019: Ab sofort sind für den Nationalpark, inklusive Than Sadet Beach, 100 Baht Erhaltungsbeitrag pro Person zu entrichten.

Aktivitäten in Than Sadet

Direkt vom Strand aus kannst dem Flusslauf folgen und die Wasserfälle mit ihren zahllosen Stufen und Becken erkunden. Die gesamte Strecke beträgt ungefähr drei Kilometer. Da dies kein senkrechter Absturz, sondern stufige Absätze sind, musst du nicht extrem steil bergauf gehen. An der Straße wurden mehrere Parkmöglichkeiten geschaffen, von wo aus du ebenfalls zum Wasser kommst, ohne ganz unten anfangen zu müssen. Than Sadet führt immer Wasser, natürlich abhängig von der Regenmenge mal mehr und mal weniger, und ist das ganze Jahr über einen Besuch wert. Bitte nimm auf deinen Erkundungstouren zu Fuß stets ausreichend Wasser mit! Entlang der Klippen ist es schön zu schnorcheln, allerdings musst du auf die Brandung achten. Bei höherem Wellengang kann es dich gegen die mit Muscheln bewachsenen Felsen drücken, das gibt dann böse Schnittwunden. Über die kleine Brücke am Südende des Strandes kann man, und sollte man unbedingt mal, zur Nachbarbucht Thong Reng laufen.

Bars und Restaurants in Haad Sadet

Dieser Strand ist wunderschön, wer aber auf der Suche nach Nachtleben oder den Annehmlichkeiten einer kleinen Ortschaft ist, sollte lieber nur für einen Tagesausflug vorbeischauen. Der nächste 7/11 oder eine größere Auswahl an Restaurants ist ca. 15 Minuten Rollerfahrt entfernt, in Thong Nai Pan zu finden. Per Boot erreichst du zwar recht schnell Haad Rin und die Eastcoast Parties wie Lost Paradise und Guys Bar, die Rückfahrt kann nachts aber recht teuer werden. Die Restaurants der Resorts servieren gutes, authentisches Thai Essen, frische Früchte und Shakes, und eine Auswahl westlicher Speisen.

 Unterkünfte in Haad Than Sadet

Hotel Koh Phangan

Mai Pen Rai Bungalows

Rustikale Holzbungalows ohne Klimaanlage aber mit allem was man braucht, direkt am Strand oder hoch auf den Klippen.

Hotel Koh Phangan

Plaas Thansadet Resort

Neben einfachen Holzbungalows gibt es auch einige neuere mit Klimaanlage. Die Aussicht vom Restaurant ist legendär!

Anfahrt

Than Sadet ist mittlerweile völlig problemlos über die schöne, breite Tong Nai Pan Straße erreichbar. Vom Thong Sala Pier aus fährst du auf der Ban Tai Road der Küste entlang in Richtung Haad Rin. In Ban Tai biegst du an der Kreuzung Joghurt Home und 7/11 links ab und folgst der Straße bis die Beschilderung dich am Kreisverkehr in die zweite Ausfahrt (rechts) weist. Dann fährst du solange, bis du mehr oder weniger am Strand anstehst. Die Fahrtzeit beträgt ungefähr 30 Minuten und ist eine steile Berg- und Talfahrt. Nimmst du ein Taxi musst du mit etwa 400 Bath pro Person rechnen. Taxipreise können stark variieren und sind abhängig von Saison, Fahrgastanzahl und Uhrzeit.

Alternativ kannst du auch mit einem Longtail Boot, zum Beispiel von Haad Rin oder Thong Nai Pan aus, anreisen. Falls du direkt von Koh Samui nach Than Sadet möchtest, bietet sich ein Speedboot an. Die Fahrt dauert nur ca. 40 Minuten, während Fähre plus Taxi oder gemietetem Roller mindestens 1,5 Stunden benötigen.

Auch interessant:

Beachguide für alle Strände

Beste Reisezeit – Koh Phangan

Anreise

Than Sadet Bilder