Ao Chaloklam is located in the north of Koh Phangan and offers you a long, beautiful, white beach. Chaloklam is still one fishing villagewhy you get to see many fishing boats and in the "Seafood Village"Enjoy excellent fish and seafood. In general, Chaloklum has everything you need to live. There are many small cafes and restaurants, both on the promenade and in the center. In addition, the small cozy place next to an 7 / 11 supermarket also offers other shops, such as pharmacies, bakeries, clothing and jewelry stores, laundries, bookstores and much more.

Although you will not see a sunrise or sunset, but worth a visit! Chaloklam has a very special flair and is especially popular with long-term travelers and retirees who live permanently on Koh Phangan. The reasons for this are the relaxed atmosphere and the great distance to the party destinations on the island. There is not a single regular party in Chaloklum! A special tip in this area is the Malibu Beach, The beach is located at the southern end of the bay and is famous for the trees that grow in the white fine sand. The turquoise sea, the bright white sand and the perfectly round shaped trees give an almost bizarre picture.

ACTIVITIES IN CHALOKLUM

The Viewpoint offers you a unique view over the bay. Instead of driving to Haad Khom, turn right and follow the signs "Viewpoint". Attention, the path is almost unpaved, possibly better run! Also worth a visit is the three Temple in the village (Wat Chaloklum, the Chinese temple on the main street, as well as a new temple below the Chinese temple). Here, please, as always, pay attention to appropriate clothing. At the main road in the direction Thongsala the way branches to Paradise Waterfall off, about opposite the temple. If you want to do sports, here is the Gym "The Press", as well as one Padel tennis court (shortly before Haad Khom). Diver can in Chaloklam at one of diving schools book, too snorkeling enthusiasts come here on their account. Since there may well be higher waves on the north coast, Chaloklam is also at kitesurfers and Wakebordern popular. Furthermore, Chaloklum is suitable as a starting point for excursions with the Longtailboot along the east coast. From the neighboring Haad Khom you can get one Hike to the famous Bottle Beach Companies. Here we cross country through the jungle, please take enough water and remember that there are no mobile phone network over long distances. There is one on Sundays Walking Street Market, This starts from 16 clock and is open until late at night. You will find local delicacies and other products, as well as sometimes live music. The market is located around the pier on the beach road. In low season, however, the weekend market can be canceled depending on the weather.

Malibu Beach Ko Phangan

Bars and restaurants in Chaloklam

In the evenings it gets rather quiet in Chaloklam. In the evening, the beach restaurants with their bars are only open longer in the high season. the Chalokbar is also open in the low season until late at night. The Live Lounge scores with live music. It is also absolutely worth a visit Woodstock Bar with its rustic flair.

However, as mentioned above, Chaloklam is more of a quiet place without much nightlife. It's a culinary attraction The World's End Cafe with a delicious breakfast, bread rolls are also offered gluten-free. You can find very delicious Thai food at Grandma's Kitchen. beach garden has a very different range of dishes, we think that their French cuisine is the absolute highlight. That Rimini is a very good Italian restaurant which also offers seafood - but no pizza. at Foods and Roots you enjoy extraordinarily good vegan/vegetarian food in a beautiful ambience.

 

Also interesting:

 Accommodation in chaloklum

Hotel Koh Phangan

Silan Residence

The complex has a large swimming pool and each unit has a kitchenette with kettle, toaster and fridge.

Hotel Koh Phangan

Padel Phangan Suite

The property has a swimming pool and fitness center and is pet-friendly. There is a kitchen with a microwave.

DIRECTIONS

From Thongsala take the Police Road and follow the signs to Chaloklum. With the scooter you need about 20 to 25 minutes, if you go by taxi you have to count on around 250 Bath per person. Taxi fares can vary widely and depend on season, number of passengers and time of day.

Exchange yourself in our Facebook group with other Koh Phangan travelers and benefit from the tips of the German-speaking emigrant community on Koh Phangan.

ūüĒĽClick on the picture and go directly to the groupūüĒĽ

Video impressions from Chaloklam 2019

Chaloklam pictures

Ao Chaloklam liegt im Norden von Koh Phangan und bietet dir einen langen, wunderschönen, weißen Strand. Chaloklam ist immer noch ein Fischerdorf, weshalb du viele Fischerboote zu sehen bekommst und im “Seafood Village” exzellenten Fisch und Meeresfrüchte genießen kannst. Generell hat Chaloklum alles zu bieten, was man zum Leben braucht. Es gibt viele kleine Cafés und Restaurants, die sich sowohl an der Promenade als auch im Ortskern befinden. Außerdem bietet der kleine gemütliche Ort neben einem 7/11 Supermarkt auch andere Shops, wie zum Beispiel Apotheken, Bäckereien, Bekleidungs- und Schmuckläden, Wäschereien, Buchläden und vieles mehr.

Zwar wirst du hier weder einen Sonnenaufgang noch Sonnenuntergang zu sehen bekommen, ein Besuch lohnt sich aber allemal! Chaloklam hat ein ganz spezielles Flair und ist besonders bei Langzeiturlaubern und Rentnern, die dauerhaft auf Koh Phangan leben, beliebt. Gründe hierfür sind die relaxte Stimmung und die große Entfernung zu den Partydestinationen auf der Insel. In Chaloklum gibt es keine einzige regelmäßig stattfindende Party! Ein besonderer Tipp in dieser Gegend ist der Malibu Beach. Der Strand befindet sich am südlichen Ende der Bucht und ist aufgrund der Bäume berühmt, die in dem weißen, feinen Sand wachsen. Das türkise Meer, der leuchtend weiße Sand und die perfekt rund geformten Bäume geben ein fast schon bizarres Bild ab.

AKTIVITÄTEN IN CHALOKLUM

Der Aussichtspunkt bietet dir einen einmaligen Ausblick über die Bucht. Biege anstatt nach Haad Khom zu fahren rechts ab und folge den Schildern “Viewpoint”. Achtung, der Weg ist nahezu unbefestigt, gegebenenfalls besser laufen! Ebenfalls lohnenswert ist ein Besuch der drei Tempel im Ort (Wat Chaloklum, der Chinesentempel an der Hauptstraße, sowie ein neuer Tempel unterhalb des chinesischen Tempels). Hier bitte, wie immer, auf angemessene Bekleidung achten. An der Hauptstraße in Richtung Thongsala zweigt der Weg zum Paradise Waterfall ab, ungefähr gegenüber der Tempel. Wer sich sportlich betätigen möchte, findet hier das Fitnessstudio „The Press“, sowie einen Padel Tennis-Platz (kurz vor Haad Khom). Taucher können in Chaloklam bei einer der Tauchschulen buchen, auch Schnorchelbegeisterte kommen hier auf ihre Rechnung. Da es an der Nordküste durchaus auch höhere Wellen geben kann, ist Chaloklam auch bei Kitesurfern und Wakebordern beliebt. Weiters eignet sich Chaloklum als Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge mit dem Longtailboot entlang der Ostküste. Vom benachbarten Haad Khom aus kannst du eine Wanderung zum berühmten Bottle Beach unternehmen. Hier geht es querfeldein durch den Dschungel, bitte nimm ausreichend Wasser mit und bedenke, dass es über weite Strecken kein Handynetz gibt. Sonntags gibt es einen Walking Street Market. Dieser beginnt ab 16 Uhr und hat bis in die Nacht geöffnet. Du findest hier lokale Köstlichkeiten und andere Produkte, sowie manchmal Live-Musik. Der Markt ist um den Pier an der Beachroad angesiedelt. In der Nebensaison kann der Wochenend-Markt jedoch je nach Wetterlage abgesagt werden.

Malibu Beach Ko Phangan

BARS UND RESTAURANTS IN CHALOKLUM

Am Abend wird es relativ still, lediglich die Crow Bar (Folge dem Schild an der Hauptstraße kurz nach Verlassen des Ortskerns Richtung Thongsala), die Chalokbar und gegenüber das Siralai (hinter dem 7/11, direkt neben dem Weg zum Strand) sind auch in der Low Season länger geöffnet. Zur Hauptsaison sind jedoch auch die Strandrestaurants bis spät in die Nacht in Betrieb. Wie bereits oben erwähnt, ist Chaloklam jedoch eher ein ruhiger Ort ohne viel Nachtleben. Kulinarisch wirst du im Lemongrass mit Steak, Burger und Thaifood verwöhnt. Das Rimini ist ein sehr gutes italienisches Restaurant welches auch Meeresfrüchte anbietet – jedoch keine Pizza. Bei Mango Tree erwartet dich griechische Küche und bei Pa Sree Thai-Streetfood in Perfektion.

 Unterkünfte in chaloklum

Hotel Koh Phangan

Silan Residence

Die Anlage verfügt über einen großen Pool und jede Wohneinheit bietet eine Küchenzeile mit Wasserkocher, Toaster und Kühlschrank.

Hotel Koh Phangan

Padel Phangan Suite

Die Unterkunft verfügt über einen Pool und ein Fitnesscenter und ist haustierfreundlich. Zur Ausstattung gehört auch eine Küche mit Mikrowelle.

ANFAHRT

Von Thongsala aus nimmst du die Police Road und folgst immer der Beschilderung Chaloklum. Mit dem Roller benötigst du ungefähr 20 bis 25 Minuten, fährst du mit dem Taxi musst du mit rund 250 Bath pro Person rechnen. Taxipreise können stark variieren und sind abhängig von Saison, Fahrgastanzahl und Uhrzeit.

Auch interessant:

Beachguide für alle Strände

Beste Reisezeit – Koh Phangan

Anreise

Chaloklam Bilder